Crepe du Vour

This past Saturday night was a night of French culture. I went to a quaint little French creperie, went to a musical that originated in France, and listened to French music. However, this is about the amazing food I tried at the French creperie, it was absolutely magnificent. I went with my family to, “Crepe du Vour,” in Greenville, SC. Their specialty is crepes! I had never gone to this restaurant before so it was something new for sure. Each plate of food was presented with love and care. The presentation of the food was beautiful and looked as if careful attention was put into the crafting of each recipe. The flavors were even more incredible as each plate was different with a burst of flavor in every bite. I am unsure if that is a specific characteristic of their culture. However, when I visit American restaurants, we do not pay as much attention to how the food is presented but rather the taste. Here, the flavors were very distinct and the taste was just as good as the presentation of the food.

This made me think back to Chapter 1 when we were talking about diversity. Not only are we diverse in our identity and belief system as human beings, but the cultural food we eat can be considered diverse as well. I think it is so interesting how the presentation of food in one culture can be so different in another culture.  Restaurant practices can vary and recipes can be dramatically different as well.

The owner of the restaurant also maneuvered from table to table introducing himself to the customers and other employees were very relational as well. They were talkative in introducing themselves to us as they served us our food.

This was an authentic French creperie and we know this to be true because our waitress informed us of a French couple who came to eat at the creperie. They had lived in France for 14 years and were raving about how good and authentic the food was at Crepe du Vour.

My sister and I shared a Tomato Basil crepe and a Bananas Foster Crepe. My parents ordered a Humus crepe, strawberry spinach salad, and a Nutella dessert crepe.

This restaurant had dessert crepes, savory crepes, and ice cream crepes. They also sold coffee at this restaurant complete with an espresso machine. If you are ever in the Greenville area make sure to make a pit stop at Crepe du Vour.

This is the sign out front of the creperieThis is the Tomato basil crepe I had for my meal. It was to die for.There were carrots, cranberries, onions, tomatoes, and drizzled in pesto sauce.They had many maps of France lining the walls of the restaurant.This is the humus crepe my mom ordered complete with cucumbers.This is a Bananas Fosters crepe my sister and I ordered to split. It had caramel, chocolate syrup, Nutella, and of course Bananas.My sister ordered this French coffee called Borgia. Ingredients: Hot chocolate + espresso+ whipped cream + Cinnamon + Orange PeelThis is a strawberry spinach salad my mom ordered.This was also really good!The dessert crepe my parents ordered. This is a strawberry, banana, chocolate syrup, Nutella crepe. Complete with powdered sugar.

Leave a comment